The Great War

While out and about last week we came across a beautiful flower display in memorial of the start of the First World War centenary. On Monday 4th August it was 100 years since the start of the the Great War which lasted over 4 years and was thought to be the war to end all wars at the time… sadly this was not the case. How scary it must have been in those times both for the men going to fight and for those left at home worrying for them. At this time of reflection it makes me feel more dismal and disappointed that war is now a seemingly never ending occurrence. The fighting in Ukraine, Syria, Iraq, the atrocities happening in Gaza; the news is full of unrest and cruelty. I didn’t want this to be a depressing ‘what has the world come to?’ post but it is something I’ve been thinking about recently. As I bring Junebug up, and any other children we may be blessed with, I hope she never has to experience the horrors of war up close, or at all really but lets be realistic.

Junebug looking at the memorial flowers.

Junebug looking at the memorial flowers.

Memorial flowers.

Memorial flowers.

Later in the week I saw the beautiful ceramic poppies they are planting at the Tower of London. What a stunning and effective piece of art to act as a memorial and, I think, very touching that there will be a poppy for each of the 888,246 British soldiers killed in the war.

 

Ceramic poppies at the Tower of London. (not my image)

Ceramic poppies at the Tower of London. (not my image)

 

I’m sure everyone wants to protect their children from these evils, so this week I am particularly remembering the families in ares of conflict in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

